Skip Navigation

School Management Committee

School Management Committee

Being a government-aided school established by the Singapore HokKien Huay Kuan (SHHK), Nan Chiau Primary School has always been receiving support, guidance and financial assistance from SHHK.

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK)

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan set up its first school in 1849. Over the years, it built Chongwen Ge, Chui Eng Free School, Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chong Hock Girls’ School, Nan Chiau High School and Kong Hwa School. Initially, these schools adopted prevailing China’s curriculum and taught Chinese culture and values, including Analects of Confucius (Lun Yu《论语》), in Hokkien. To meet the pace of societal changes, these soon gave way to offering English Language and Mathematics in addition to the Chinese Language.

Today, the six affiliated schools: Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chongfu Primary School, Nan Chiau High School, Nan Chiau Primary School and Kong Hwa School have a combined enrolment of 14,000 students and 700 staff. They share a common set of mission and motto:


  • To provide for development in the moral, cognitive, physical, social and aesthetic spheres;
  • To instill a love for the nation and the community;
  • To equip students with basic life skills;
  • To preserve and promote Chinese language and Chinese culture.

Motto: Sincerity & Perseverance

Back to top